Chair's Message

photo of David J. McGuinty

The Honourable David J. McGuinty

Chair
National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians

I am honoured to be re-appointed as Chair of the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (NSICOP).

I would like to extend a warm welcome to the new and returning members of the Committee. I look forward to working with them to continue the important work of providing a non-partisan approach to the scrutiny of national security and intelligence issues in Canada.

The Committee’s first priority will be to prepare for the tabling in Parliament of the 2019 Annual and Special Reports. The Committee will also work with the NSICOP Secretariat to consider proposals for the reviews it will undertake over the course of 2020.

We look forward to early engagement with senior officials in the security and intelligence community charged with keeping Canadians safe. We will also solicit the views of academics and civil liberties groups, whose perspectives on national security challenges are important for the Committee to hear.

Message du président

L’honorable David J. McGuinty, C.P., député,

Président
Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement

Je suis heureux d’être de nouveau nommé président du Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement (CPSNR).

Je souhaite la plus cordiale bienvenue aux membres, nouveaux et anciens, du Comité. J’ai hâte de continuer notre important travail qui consiste à examiner de façon non-partisane les questions liées à la sécurité nationale et au renseignement.

La première priorité du Comité sera de se préparer en vue du dépôt au Parlement du Rapport annuel de 2019 et du Rapport spécial. Par ailleurs, le Comité travaillera avec le Secrétariat du CPSNR pour étudier des propositions en ce qui concerne les examens qu’il entreprendra au cours de l’année 2020.

Nous chercherons aussi à mobiliser dès que possible les dirigeants de l’appareil de la sécurité et du renseignement qui ont pour mandat d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens. Nous solliciterons également des points de vue d’universitaires et de groupes de défense des libertés civiles, car le Comité est d’avis qu’il est important d’obtenir les perspectives de la société civile entourant la sécurité nationale.